Visit ShanghaiTech University | 中文 | How to find us
HOME > News and Events > Events
Scalable In-memory Computing Using Emerging Commodity Hardware
Date: 2017/7/17             Browse: 404
Speaker:   陈海波
Time:        July 17,3:00 pm-4:00 pm.

Location:  Room 1A-200  , SIST Building

Inviter:   江舸


In-memory computing promises 1000X faster data access speed, which brings opportunities to boost transaction processing speed into a higher level.  In this talk, I will describe our recent research effort of providing speedy in-memory transactions and queries at the scale of millions of transactions/queries per second. Specifically,  I will present how we leverage advanced hardware features like HTM and RDMA to provide both better single-node and distributed in-memory transactions and queries,  how operating systems and processor architecture could be refined to further ease and improve in-memory computing, as well as how concurrency control protocol can be adapted accordingly to  fit our need.


Haibo Chen is a Professor at the School of Software, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, where he co-founds and leads the Institute of Parallel and Distributed Systems (IPADS) ( He is currently on leave at Huawei, where he builds and directs the Operating System Kernel Lab. Haibo’s main research interests are building scalable and dependable systems software, by leveraging cross-layering approaches spanning computer hardware system virtualization and operating systems. He pioneered in the research of system virtualization for trustworthiness of cloud as well as in building speedy in-memory transaction and query systems with world-record high throughput and low latency. He received best paper awards from ICPP, APSys and EuroSys, a best paper nominee from HPCA, the Young Computer Scientist Award from China Computer Federation, the distinguished Ph.D thesis award from China Ministry of Education and National Youth Top-notch Talent Support Program of China. He also received fault research award/fellowship from NetApp, Google, IBM and MSRA. He is currently the steering committee co-chair of ACM APSys, the general co-chair of SOSP 2017, serves on program committees of SOSP 2017, ASPLOS 2017, Oakland 2017, EuroSys 2017, CCS 2017 and FAST 2017, the Award Committee of ACM SIGSAC and CCF/IEEE CS Young Computer Scientist Award, as well as the editorial board of ACM Transactions on Storage.

                                                                                                                  SIST-Seminar 17038