Visit ShanghaiTech University | 中文 | How to find us
HOME > News and Events > News
SWEDCS’2016 Workshop Successfully Held by SIST
Date: 2016/7/3             Browse: 1211

      The ShanghaiTech Workshop on Emerging Devices, Circuits and Systems (SWEDCS’2016) was held successfully from June 30th to July 1st in the Zhangjiang High-Tech Park, Shanghai.

      SWEDCS'2016 was the first gathering of world-class experts in computing systems, and was sponsored and organized by the School of Information Science and Technology (SIST).

      Today, energy-efficient computing is a key challenge for all modern computing devices and systems. The SWEDCS’2016 workshop gathered the most renowned researchers in the world to 1) discuss the state of the art and the future perspectives in the area of energy-efficient computing and 2) identify possible actions to develop the next-generation computing systems with orders of improvement in energy-efficiency,from the different levels of device, circuit, architecture, software, algorithm and application.

      The workshop’s speakers include some best-known figures in the semiconductor and computing fields such asProfessor Chenming Hu,the recipient of the 2015 US National Medal of Technology & Innovation and a member of the US National Academy of Engineering, Professor Yale N. Patt, the recipient of 2016 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Computer and Cognitive Science and a member of the US National Academy of Engineering, Professor Kaushik Roy, an IEEE Fellow, and Dr. Kevin X. Zhang, an Intel Fellow and vice president in the Technology and Manufacturing Group at Intel Corporation.

      Hosted by Professor Xin Li from Carnegie Mellon University, the four panelists shared their thoughtful insights about “Computing in The Post-Moore Era” on the panel session, which was well received by the audience.

      The workshop attracted more than 300 audience from both academia (such as CAS, Tsinghua Univ., Peking Univ., SJTU and Fudan Univ.) and companies (such as SITRI and Hisilicon) who were mostly young faculty members, graduate students, and industrial researchers in related fields.